Mumbainet

Being Censitive at The Hive

13558613_10157151976935338_347284210334003544_o

Being Censitive is an art project on censorship on the grounds of obscenity.

The project takes inspiration from the temple art of Khajuraho and then juxtaposes them with a few examples of censorship/moral policing.

Come and interact with the project in its true tactile form. Looking forward to seeing you all! 🙂

Featured here:
Campus Diaries – https://campusdiaries.com/stories/being-censitive

Dr. Shashi Tharoor – https://www.facebook.com/ShashiTharoor/posts/10153870406343167?pnref=story

The Ladies Finger – http://theladiesfinger.com/being_censitive/

Buzzfeed – https://www.buzzfeed.com/niralishah/being-censitive?utm_term=.agvzBRGPA#.tn3MQVK72

Catch News – http://www.catchnews.com/culture-news/khajuraho-temple-art-meets-indian-censorship-through-akshita-chandra-s-work-1466618225.html

Jaipur Women Blog – http://jaipurwomenblog.org/jwb-chats-with-akshita-chandra-the-young-uncensored-artist/

Vagabomb – http://www.vagabomb.com/This-Artist-Reimagined-Desi-Erotic-Temples-Carvings-So-The-Moral-Police-Wont-Object?ep=VB

Deccan Chronicle – http://www.deccanchronicle.com/lifestyle/sex-and-relationship/270616/a-censitive-take-on-sexuality.html

The Quint – http://www.thequint.com/waterqooler/2016/06/24/dont-look-erotic-khajuraho-drawings-show-hypocrisy-of-censorship-in-india-being-censitive

Huffington Post Global – http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/artist-updates-ancient-indian-erotica-to-show-just-how-messed-up-her-countrys-censorship-laws-are-today_us_5772e942e4b0eb90355cb380?section=india

Huffington Post India – http://www.huffingtonpost.in/2016/06/30/censorship-censitive-tumb_n_10730478.html?1467273030

Scroll.in – http://scroll.in/bulletins/7/new-survey-reveals-what-india-gets-right-and-wrong-about-living-a-fulfilled-life

Homegrown- http://homegrown.co.in/how-one-student-censored-indian-culture-through-these-satricial-illustrations/

The News Minute – http://www.thenewsminute.com/article/contemporary-twist-khajuraho-bengaluru-artist-redefines-censorship-through-art-45943

Times of India, in print (Lucknow edition)

Mid-day, in print (pg 23) – http://epaper2.mid-day.com/epaper/09-jul-2016-252-edition-Mumbai-Page-1.html

Firstpost – http://www.firstpost.com/fwire/life-fwire/meet-akshita-chandra-an-artist-who-is-using-khajuraho-temple-art-to-battle-censorship-2881446.html#disqus_thread

Deccan Herald – http://www.deccanherald.com/content/557274/censitive-narratives.html

To know more: being-censitive.tumblr.com

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

kantawala_ashley@yahoo.com'